Basic Facts on Malawi



The Republic of Malawi is a landlocked country bordered by Zambia, Tanzania, and Mozambique. Malawi covers an area of 118,480 km², which is about one-third the size of Japan. Lilonqwe is the capital city of Malawi.

Population

The population of Malawi is 13.2 million, according to the 2008 Malawi National Population Census. The population is therefore just higher than that of Tokyo.

The population estimates for the main cities of the country are as below:

- • Lilongwe, 1.897 million
- • Blantyre, 0.999 million
- • Mzuzu, 0.853 million
- Zomba, 0.670 million

People

The people of Malawi speak English, and vernacular languages including Chichewa, Lomwe, Yao and Tumbuka. Currently, approximately 83% of Malawians are employed in agriculture, but this is changing rapidly with urbanization.

Majority of Malawians are Christians.

Geography

Malawi contains an abundance of pristine nature. The Great Rift Valley runs through the country from the north to the south. Beautiful Lake Malawi, the third largest lake in Africa and the 10th largest in the world, covers 20% of the area of the country. The tallest mountain in the country is Mount Mulanje, which is about the same height as Mt. Fuji, at 3,002 meters.

<u>Climate</u>

Malawi has a sub-tropical climate. The wet season is typically from November to April. Average rainfall during this period is from 725mm to 2,500mm. The cool-dry season is from May to August. During this time temperatures range between 17 and 27 Celsius. The hot-dry season occurs between September and October, when temperatures range between 25 and 37 Celsius.

<u>Travel</u>

Malawi has two international airports, namely: Kamuzu International Airport in Lilongwe and Chileka Airport in Blantyre.

Tarmarked road network connect the airports to all major cities in Malawi.

Medical Care and Hospitals

Hospitals and pharmacies are available in all major cities and tourist resorts.

Currency and Banking

The unit of currency in Malawi is the Kwacha, divided in 100 tambala. Currency notes are in denominations of K500, K200, K100, K50, K20, K5.

Foreign currency and traveler's cheques can be exchanged at banks, some tourist hotels and lodges and bureaus de changes.

Major credit cards are accepted in major hotels and restaurants.

Banking hours are 08.00 to 13.00 Monday to Saturday